jump to navigation

Writing My PLCs December 31, 2006

Posted by Edwin in Motivation, Progress.
trackback

My company has this policy that every employee must fill out a Personal Business Commitment (PBC) form every year. The form contains several goals and at the end of the year, we are to write our own report and see if the goals have been achieved.

I have just spent the entire day last Friday to fill out my own report. It is really tough. Honestly, I hate writing reports, especially my own! But then they say my next year salary and future promotion depend very much on it. Please tell me if everything has not been decided already!

This is the time of the year that people start making new year’s resolutions. As far as language bloggers are concerned, I notice people like Kelly, Geoff, and Tony have already done theirs.

Some language bloggers also write progress reports from time to time. I realize this is a good thing to do for the following benefits:

  1. You have a clearer understanding of what you have achieved so far (if any), and also make plans for future developments
  2. The whole world is holding you accountable, at least you have this impression yourself
  3. You share your own progress with others. If the progress is successful, you motivate people, If it is a failure, some people may be able to offer help to you

I now have the choice of putting everything in one report, or doing each language separately. I have actually tried the former, but the report does not look good. So I’d rather do one report on each language. Currently, I am most concerned with my French progress. Therefore, I will do French first and the rest later (if I still remember).

Here is my Personal Language Commitment (PLC) 2007 for French, which contains both the progress report and goals for next year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

