jump to navigation

Choosing Between Language Learning and Blogging February 9, 2007

Posted by Edwin in Blogging.
trackback

Two days ago, Kelly the Aspiring Polyglot has decided to retire her blog, which has been running for almost a year. On one hand, I feel sad to know the departure of one of the finest language blogs around. On the other hand, I am glad to know that Kelly has decided to put more time and effort into her language learning.

Personally, I think it is the correct attitude to put your language learning first, then blogging. I have been telling myself since the launch of this blog that I would continue blogging only under the condition that it will not hinder my language learning progress. Learning a language does take up a lot of time. When the two come together, blogging becomes secondary.

To my fellow language-learning bloggers, there is one message I want to convey here. Kelly has already put it nicely in her post: put more time and effort into actually working on your languages rather than just write about them.

Comments»

1. Joanne - February 9, 2007

I just discovered Kelly’s blog a few days ago and am sorry to see it go. I’m glad that the archives will still be around though and I look forward to reading her older posts.

What irony…this comes on a day when I, too, have decided to retire my own language blog.

2. chris(mandarin_student) - February 9, 2007

Strangely I find exactly the opposite effect, blogging and participating in forums etc. has resulted in a wonderful Chinese Skype partner (more helpful than I could possibly have imagined), helpful suggestions and corrections, some free study materials, a few meetups face to face with a Chinese guy to exchange languages over coffee, some inside information of where to go shopping in my local area to find Chinese speakers and much more.

It seems the more I put out the more I get back. Maybe it is just Mandarin that has this effect.

3. edwinlaw - February 10, 2007

Joanne, why would you like to retire your blog? Any particular reason?

4. edwinlaw - February 10, 2007

Chris,
Yes, blogging should help your language learning. This is the reason why I created this blog. However, sometimes we would unconsciously give a higher priority on blogging, which slows down our language learning progress. If this is the case, we need to realign our priorities.

5. Osman - February 10, 2007

I agree with you Edwin. Blogging shouldn’t hinder our efforts while we are learning our target languages. I have decided something. I will blog in the languages i am learning. Yes, few months ago, i had blogged in Spanish and my friends did correct me. That was awesome. Now, i am re-studying Spanish and will re-blog. I don’t know.. That’s freaky but i will blog and learn my target language. And yes, we shouldnt just write about them. German? very soon! 😉


Leave a Reply

